Mouth of the Kem River.

Mouth of the Kem River.

description

Summary

Mouth of the Kem River. Church of John the Precursor. Arkhangelsk Province, Russia. Photos of Prokudin Gorsky.

Устье реки Кемь. Церковь во имя Иоанна Предтечи. Архангельская губерния, Россия. Фотографии Прокудина Горского.

Sergei Mikhailovich Prokudin-Gorskii Collection features color photographic surveys of the vast Russian Empire made between ca. 1905 and 1916. An active photographer and scientist, Prokudin-Gorskii (1863-1944) undertook most of his ambitious color documentary project from 1909 to 1915. The Library of Congress purchased the collection from the photographer's sons in 1948. In the summer of 1916 Prokudin-Gorsky made his last photo expedition - he photographed the newly constructed southern section of the Murmansk Railroad and the Solovetsky Islands. The photographer drove along the Olonets road - from Zvanka to Petrozavodsk - and the completed section of the Murmansk road, connected via the Olonets road with St. Petersburg, from Petrozavodsk to Kemi. From there he went to Solovki and made beautiful photographs of the famous monastery there. Летом 1916 года Прокудин-Горский совершил свою последнюю фотоэкспедицию — сфотографировал недавно построенный южный участок Мурманской железной дороги и Соловецкие острова. Фотограф проехал по Олонецкой дороге — от Званки до Петрозаводска — и завершенному к этому времени участку Мурманской дороги, соединявшемуся через Олонецкую дорогу с Санкт-Петербургом, — от Петрозаводска до Кеми. Оттуда он направился в Соловки и сделал там прекрасные фотографии знаменитого монастыря.

date_range

Date

1916
create

Source

Romanov Empire - Империя Романовых
copyright

Copyright info

No known copyright restrictions

Explore more

российская империя
российская империя